So my next birthday approaches, and I’m deciding what I am going to do about it.  I mean it’s a depressing enough event without feeling the need to celebrate it, although a celebration of my completion of another circumnavigation of Sol at 1 au of altitude (he he nerd joke) will be impetus enough to reach out to friends of yesterday and to embrace those of today.

So ideas about how to mark the day, which fortunately is a Saturday this year.

Step 1. Examine current interests for inspiration.

  • Laserforce – Nah too juvenile to have the whole thing there (besides they’d frown on the amount of C2H5OH that would be consumed).
  • Shooting – Yeah, this maybe better left well enough alone. Besides I’ve been well slack about going recently.
  • Sci Fi – Easy to incorporate, not to easy to make the center piece.
  • Rock Climbing – Well it’s in storm season, and indoor is a bit exey for a big group
  • Mathematics – Ha I’m hilarious…
  • Drinking – This works…

Ok, so were going to work in C2H5OH (ethanol for those of you who don’t think in terms of notation of various forms), probably some music, maybe some indoor rock climbing (because having a jumping castle has been done recently), slacklining is a must have, And the people from Sci Fi & Lasers will probably have to do. And there will be maths in the planning for it so… Yay!

Step 2. Guest List…  So I’ll throw out a broad net here.  The gang from Uni, old School mates, mates from Work, the gang from lasers, my Sci Fi mates, the rock climbers who won’t be driving to the Bluies on the day (unfortunately the convoy down leaves on my b’day 😦 and I won’t be in it.).  Also anyone I would have invited to my 21st or 18th had I actually had a significant party for either of these.  I’ll have to track down some of the peeps from Rovers and trow the net that way as it will be the day I would have been ‘Booted’ had I stayed in.

Step 3. Venue… Well there are a number of factors here, including capacity, cost, location and permitted activities.  Harking back to my days in scouting I think a Scout Den would be a good choice for the party location. Easy enough to hire (and not too expensive).  Do I want to have staff? Security? Bartender? What’s the budget?  Am I buying booze or is it BYO? (Leaning heavily to BYO I have some hard drinking friends – you know who you are). Probably a security guard fir the door but nobody else.

Step 4. Entertainment… I’m thinking partly recreating the Mana Bar would be cool but I only have a Wii and an old PS2 and only one TV.  The PC will be occupied being the Jukebox along with my Amp and speakers. Or will I try to beg borrow or steal these items?

So to try and sort these things out, Scout Hall, all and sundry, quotes for security, and determine an entertainment plan…  At least it’s after central exams.

Have fun Kiddies.

